Whole Wheat Fresh Berry and Ginger Scones

Oh, scones. There is something just so quaint and homey about you.

IMG_6836

I love scones because they are not overly sweet. In fact, these scones have hardly any sugar in them.

They are made from simple and wholesome ingredients: fresh berries, crystalized ginger, whole wheat flour, greek yogurt, milk, a little bit of butter, and a touch of sugar in the raw.

IMG_6795.jpg

IMG_6804.JPG

IMG_6808

These were really simple to make. I mixed together the dry ingredients, then worked in the butter (I learned out to “cut butter” into the flour by watching a quick YouTube video), milk, and greek yogurt. Finally, I added the berries and ginger, a touch of lemon and lemon zest, and rolled it all out in a random blob.

IMG_6810.JPG

I tried to make “scone-like” shapes out of it, and ended up with a whole bunch of different sized slices. But hey, that’s what homemade is supposed to look like, right?

IMG_6812.jpg

These came out delicious. I LOVE the fresh berries. So many recipes called for using dried fruit, but I would highly recommend using fresh fruit. The sweetness of the berries heightened with the heat of the oven, and the berries were sweet and melty when they were done cooking.

IMG_6830.JPG

IMG_6833.jpg

I brought a few of these over to my brother and his fiance that night, saved a couple for myself in my fridge for breakfast, and individually wrapped the rest and froze them for future mornings. And obviously ate one straight out of the oven for an afternoon snack.

IMG_6824.JPG

IMG_6828.JPG

IMG_6831.JPG

These scones would be perfect alongside a cup of coffee in the morning with some berries on the side, paired with a couple of eggs, or used for a mid afternoon snack with a cup of tea. They are simple, made with wholesome ingredients, and incredibly satisfying.

Enjoy! 🙂

Whole Wheat Fresh Berry and Ginger Scones 

(adapted from this recipe)

makes about 14 scones

  • 1.5 cups whole wheat pastry flour
  • .5 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 T baking power
  • 1/2 t baking soda
  • 4 T turbinado (raw) sugar, plus more for sprinkling on top
  • 5 T butter
  • 1/2 cup greek yogurt (I used 0%, fat free)
  • 1/2 cup milk (I used almond milk)
  • dash of cinnamon
  • 1 cup fresh berries
  • 1/2 cup crystallized ginger
  • 1 T lemon juice + 1 T lemon zest
  • dash of salt

1. Preheat oven to 350.

2. Combine yogurt and baking soda in a bowl and set aside. This will turn the yogurt in a light, fluffy, meringue-type texture.

3. In a large bowl, combine flours, baking powder, sugar, cinnamon and salt. Whisk together.

4. Cut the butter into bite sized pieces and then add it in to the flour mixture. Use your hands to coat the butter with the flours and to mix it all together. Or, use this video to learn more about “cutting” the butter into the flour with knives. 

5. Add in the greek yogurt and milk. Mix well.

6. Add in the chopped berries and chopped ginger. Add in lemon zest, and squeeze of lemon juice.

7. Mix well together. On a floured surface, lay out the dough and spread until it is a 1/2 inch thick. Cut into triangles and lay out on baking sheets. I lined the baking sheets with a tiny bit of butter, but you can use parchment paper instead.

8. Bake for about 20 minutes, or until lightly brown on edges.

2 thoughts on “Whole Wheat Fresh Berry and Ginger Scones

  1. I had forgotten how much I love scones. They have a warm memory for me of my mother–she used to buy them (my mom does not bake!) every Sunday morning and they would be waiting for me on the kitchen counter when I woke up. 🙂 Lemon and poppyseed are my favorite!

Leave a Reply

