Roasted Vegetable and Spiced Chickpea Salad

Good morning!

Man, do I have a salad recipe for you. I think that if I were to ever have a restaurant, this salad would probably be on the menu. It’s interesting, it has a ton of flavor, it has all of your food groups, it’s incredibly healthy, and the various textures keeps each bite tasting a little different.

IMG_6490.jpg

I made this while I was at my parents house in CT yesterday. I was craving a big salad for lunch, but was also really cold in my house (my parents keep the house freezing), so I decided to add some warm vegetables on top.

IMG_6493.JPG

I started with a base of chopped romaine, cucumbers, and baby tomatoes.

IMG_6496.JPG

I then laid out chopped sweet potatoes on a pan and drizzled them with a tiny bit of olive oil and salt. I kept them very simple.

IMG_6486.JPG

For the mushrooms, I added them to a large bowl and covered them in balsamic vinegar. I mixed it all up with my hands to make sure the ‘shrooms were covered in vinegar, and then laid them out next to the sweet potatoes on a baking tray. Added Salt and Pepper.

IMG_6500.JPG

For the chickpeas, I laid out a can of them on another baking tray, added salt, chipotle chil powder, chili powder and nutmeg. I taste tested them until they were spicy enough.

I then popped both trays into a 450 degree oven (chickpeas on one tray, mushrooms/sweet potatoes on another). After about 10 minutes, everything was cooked through and crispy.

IMG_6494.JPG

I assembled everything and added sliced almonds and drizzles of more balsamic vinegar and dijon mustard as a dressing.

So there you have it… a quick and easy spruced up salad. Who said salads have to be boring?

How do you spruce up your salads? What are your favorite ingredients to include?

Roasted Vegetable and Spiced Chickpea Salad

(serves 1)

These are all rough measurements:

  • about a 1/2 cup chickpeas, rinsed and drained
  • 1/2 sweet potato
  • small container of whole mushrooms
  • 2-3 cups of romaine
  • handful of baby tomatoes
  • 1/3 cucumber
  • 2 T slivered almonds
  • 1/4 cup balsamic vinegar
  • 1 T olive oil
  • Spices: whatever you’d like to use for the chickpeas- I used chipotle chili powder, salt, chili powder, and nutmeg

1. Preheat oven to 450.

2. Add balsamic vinegar to mushrooms in a large bowl. Mix well, then lay out mushrooms on a foil lined baking sheet. Add S&P. Add sweet potato chunks to baking sheet. Drizzle sweet potato with a little olive oil and salt.

3. For the chickpeas: rinse and drain, then lay out on a foil lined baking sheet. Add a sprinkle of olive oil, salt, and spices (start with just a dash of each and then add more based on how spicy you want it).

4. Add everything to the oven and bake for about 10 minutes until mushrooms and potatoes are cooked through and chickpeas are crispy.

5. Combine romaine, tomatoes and cucumbers. Top with roasted vegetables and chickpeas. Top with slivered almonds. Drizzle balsamic vinegar over the top, or dressing of your choice.

3 thoughts on “Roasted Vegetable and Spiced Chickpea Salad

  1. something about roasted broccoli goes so well with a salad with balsamic vinaigrette, i don’t know what it is, but i love it! bookmarking this page πŸ™‚ gotta go get some mushrooms!

Leave a Reply

