Sweet Potatoes Made Easy: Roasted with Maple and Fresh Rosemary

Good morning guys!

I’m really excited this morning. Yesterday I bought a desk that I am in LOVE with and I’m sitting at it typing away for the first time this morning. I decided I needed a desk if I were to get serious about getting anything done in my apartment, so I went on craigslist, searched for exactly what I wanted “shabby chic white desk”, and found one that fit the bill for super cheap. Not to mention that the nice couple delivered it to me from Jersey City for $15 within a few hours. The whole process went pretty much as smooth as it could have possibly gone and I’m sorta kinda obsessed with my new piece of furniture.

OKAY so now that I’ve calmed my excitement, let’s talk sweet potatoes! I almost didn’t get around to posting this because it had been so long since I made them (last Sunday), but then I thought no way, they HAVE to have this recipe. It’s a really really good one.

Allow me to introduce you to Maple Rosemary Roasted Sweet Potatoes.

First of all, I just learned in my nutrition class the other day how many antioxidants sweet potatoes have. Like, they are packed. Additionally, they contain TONS of Vitamin A which is needed for your vision, bone growth and skin/membrane growth. So eat ’em up!

IMG_5216.JPG

IMG_5245.JPG

The reason why I love this sweet potato recipe so much is that they are so simple to make, yet they make your kitchen smell ridiculously good and they add some serious flavor to a normal sweet potato.

All you have to do is chop up the sweet potatoes into bite sized chunks, add them to a bowl and drizzle a little bit of olive oil, maple syrup, and rosemary sprigs on top. Roast in a 450 degree oven for about a half hour.

IMG_5251.jpg

And then once they are done, just store them in a tupperware and eat them all week long. With anything and everything. Some examples of how I used these throughout the last week:

IMG_5342.JPG

Salad: bean burgers, veggies, avocado, sweet potato, spinach

IMG_5407.JPG

Snack: baked chicken, sweet potatoes, avocado, BBQ sauce

IMG_5411.JPG

Lunch: veggie stir fry with pesto

IMG_5427.JPG

Dinner: pasta with bean burger, sweet potato, spinach and pesto

Clearly I used up the same ingredients all week just in different combinations, but I loved having these tasty, soft sweet potatoes to add to everything.

I don’t know if I will ever make sweet potatoes any other way again. These were SO easy and absolutely delicious. So get your Vitamin A and antioxidants on! I hope you enjoy 🙂

Maple Rosemary Roasted Sweet Potatoes

  • 1.5 LARGE sweet potatoes, or 2 small ones, or however many you want. But this recipe is for what I made, which is using 1.5 very large potatoes.
  • 2 T maple syrup
  • 1 T olive oil
  • 5 or 6 fresh rosemary sprigs

1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees.

2. Wash sweet potatoes and roughly chop in to bite sized pieces.

3. In a large bowl, drizzle the maple syrup and olive oil on top of the potatoes. Add the rosemary leaves from the sprigs (just roughly pull off the leaves).

4. Toss everything thoroughly to coat. Lay ‘taters on a greased baking sheet (I use PAM) and pop into oven for about a half hour, or until cooked through.

5 thoughts on “Sweet Potatoes Made Easy: Roasted with Maple and Fresh Rosemary

Leave a Reply

