Banana Chocolate Chip Cookies

Sooo, these are definitely the best cookies I have made to date. And yea, they are really really healthy.

Why do I like to make healthy cookies? (see below for more of my healthy cookie recipes)

Because I want to eat them every day. For snacks, for dessert, and as my friend said today “you can even eat these for breakfast, they are so good and healthy”.

cookies.jpg

After I made these, I tasted one straight out of the oven and almost lost my cool. I tripped over shoes, books and bags to grab the nearest notebook and pen to write down the recipe. I could not forget a single ingredient. They were THAT good.

IMG_5284.JPG

These have no butter.

IMG_5277.JPG

No oil.

IMG_5260.jpg

No sugar. Just 1 Tablespoon of Maple Syrup and 1 Tablespoon of Honey. 

IMG_5262.jpg

They are whole wheat.


IMG_5265.JPG

But you better bet they have chocolate.


IMG_5278.JPG


IMG_5401.JPG

They are simple. They are made of quality ingredients. They are good for you. And you can eat them any. time. you. want.


IMG_5284.JPG

Something happened and I became good at sharing this week. I actually LOVED giving these to my friends. ‘Tis the season, after all. I loved carrying a few in a zip lock bag in my purse and surprising someone with cookies. I loved watching my friends try them, staring at them in anticipation as they chewed, and then getting their stamp of approval. I hope you try these and like them too!

Just one of the many ways I enjoyed them this week…with some almond butter before bed:

IMG_5403.JPG

Whole Wheat Banana Chocolate Chip Cookies

(makes 14 cookies)

  • 1 cup whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1 cup oats (I used old fashioned, not quick oats, but you can use either)
  • 1 banana, chopped into bite sized pieces
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup mini morsel chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup applesauce
  • 1 T honey
  • 1 T maple syrup
  • 1/2 t baking soda
  • 1/2 t baking powder
  • 1 t vanilla extract
  • dashes of cinnamon and nutmeg

1. Preheat oven to 350. Mix together dry ingredients: flour, oats, baking soda, baking powder, nutmeg, cinnamon in a large bowl.

2. Heat up the banana in the microwave for 1 minute, until it is really soft and mushy. Beat in the egg and the applesauce. Beat together until smooth (see above picture). Add in honey, maple syrup and vanilla.

3. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients.

4. Stir in chocolate chips. Form into cookie form and add to greased baking sheet.

5. Bake in 350 degree oven for about 10-12 minutes or until cooked through.

Other healthy cookie recipes I have made:

Compost Cookies: Zucchini/Carrot/Chocolate Chip Cookies

Oatmeal Honey Chocolate Chip Cookies

Pumpkin Cookies

15 thoughts on “Banana Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Reblogged this on healthy grrl and commented:
    Jamie, the creator of Studioeats.com & these super healthy cookies, stopped in at HG and dropped off a healthy dose of encouragement. I’m following her blog now, and will be making up a batch of these asap. I may use raisin/cranraisins instead of the chocolate. Much bloglove to all.

  2. I am definitely going to make these cookies..since i don’t eat butter or sugar..I’m very excited to try these! I’m so impressed with your blog, Jamie..you have given me so many wonderful, yummy, healthy ideas. Love your creations!

  3. Hi Jamie,

    I just discovered your blog on linkedin and your health journey is so inspiring! I recently decided to start eating healthy to help me lose weight and I made these cookies this past weekend. Great recipe and super yummy =)

    Thanks,
    Christine

Leave a Reply

