WIAW {11.28.2012}: Wine Night First Timer

Oh man, am I feeling groggy right now. I had the hardest time sleeping last night! But we will get to that in a second. First, let’s back up. Thanks to Jenn for hosting the WIAW tradition.

My day started yesterday with some Starbucks and a trip to the grocery store in the early hours. I love strolling around the grocery store with coffee while the store is still empty. It’s so peaceful 🙂

IMG_5065.JPG

I picked up a loaf of fresh rye bread from the bakery and wanted to use it for breakfast immediately. This may look like a strange combo, and it is, but it totally worked. Rye toast with avocado and raspberry jam:

IMG_5071.JPG

I headed to a meeting at around 11:15 and then quickly met up with Amanda for some chit chat before heading to class. I packed a quick lunch filled with sautéed veggies (spinach, carrots, zucchini, yellow pepper, green beans, mushrooms), marinara sauce, and a generous helping of goat cheese. Topped with slivered almonds.

IMG_5082.JPG

Mmm goat cheese!

IMG_5083.JPG

I ended up coming home in between classes and having an unexpected break. Since it was SNOWING in NYC yesterday, a warm snack was definitely needed. I warmed up a granny smith apple, drizzled with almond butter, and paired it with tea.

IMG_5084.JPG

IMG_5085.JPG

Ohhhh yea.

IMG_5086.JPG

Then I picked myself up, got all bundled, and headed back out to class at around 4:30. Another cup of tea was picked up from Starbucks to keep me warm during the commute. It was a nasty weather day here in the city!

Vanilla Roobois Tea:

IMG_5090.JPG

And then, I commuted from the Upper West Side downtown and met up with a bunch of lovely ladies for my first appearance at their monthly wine night!

When I was in Cape Cod with Mara (my brother’s fiancé) and her friends a couple of months ago, they invited me to start coming to their monthly wine nights. Their group of friends rotates the responsibility of hosting wine night each month. Each girl brings over a bottle of the wine of the month and the host provides some appetizers or whatever they’d like to cook. Sounds like my kinda thannng!

Leah was, as expected, an awesome host. She had been talking to me about things she wanted to cook for wine night since we hung out at the Cape a couple months ago and she really impressed us all. She even took pictures of the set up before everyone got there so that she could send them to me for the blog. What a pal!!

IMG_5106.JPG

IMG_5105.JPG

IMG_5107.JPG

About 2/3 of the girls:
IMG_5109.JPG

Some stars of the night included her pumpkin cupcakes with dairy-free cream cheese frosting (Leah tries to stay away from too much dairy):

IMG_5108.JPG

And a Tart made with butternut squash, pancetta, shiitake mushrooms, onion and vegan cheddar cheese:

photo 2.JPG

IMG_5110.JPG

Both were SO delicious. Leah, maybe you can post the recipes in the comment section??

I had about one and a half glasses of wine (the wine of the month was Malbec), the above picture of the Tart, some cheese and crackers, some veggies and dip, and half a cupcake. I had so much fun hanging out with these girls, mostly a crew who met at Cornell and went to college together, and love the concept of this wine night. Thanks, Leah, for being such a great host and cooking up a storm!

And THEN. I got home at around 11, got ready for bed, and just could. not. sleep. My stomach was grumbling, probably because I didn’t eat a real dinner, and I knew I couldn’t go to bed hungry. My stomach literally felt like it hadn’t eaten in days, I was so hungry! It was strange.

After an hour or so of stirring in bed, I finally gave in. I got up and made a snack…Raisin Bran to the rescue. I love this brand of cereal. The ingredients could not be simpler.

IMG_5111.jpg

I also had a couple small slices of rye bread + almond butter. Finally I was full and could fall asleep, but man those couple hours are always so frustrating!

So that’s my day! How was yours? Do you ever have trouble sleeping? Can you fall asleep hungry? What are your fav pre-bedtime snacks? So many questions!! 🙂

6 thoughts on “WIAW {11.28.2012}: Wine Night First Timer

  1. Soo smart to go to Fairway first thing in the morning. I’d always go right at 6 on my way home from work and it was always absolute madness!

    Love the idea of a monthly wine night! And the wine being a different theme every month? So fun!

  2. Thanks for posting pictures of my food on your blog, Jamie! I feel so honored. Here’s the recipe for the tart – it’s from the November issue of Cooking Light but I made some modifications:

    Ingredients:
    Pre-made whole wheat crust
    3 cups precubed peeled butternut squash
    2 tbsp extra-virgin olive oil, divided
    ¾ cup prechopped onion
    2.5 oz shredded vegan cheddar cheese (I used daiya brand)
    2 large eggs
    ½ tsp kosher salt, divided
    ½ tsp freshly ground black pepper, divided
    1.5 oz prechopped pancetta
    5 oz presliced shiitake mushroom caps
    ¼ cup dry white wine

    Instructions:
    • Pre-heat oven to 425 degrees
    • Place squash in food processor and process for 1 minute or until squash is finely chopped. Heat a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add 1 tbsp oil to pan; swirl to coat. Add squash and onion to pan; sauté for 9 minutes, stirring occasionally.
    • While squash cooks, combine half of cheese (about 1/3 cup), eggs, ¼ tsp salt, and ¼ tsp pepper in a large bowl; stir in squash mixture. Spoon squash mixture over crust, and spread evenly. Put tart in oven; bake 9 minutes.
    • Return pan to medium-high heat. Ad remaining 1 tbsp oil to pan; swirl to coat. Add pancetta; cook 1 minute or until beginning to brown. Add mushrooms; cook for 7 minutes or until browned. Stir in remaining ¼ tsp salt and ¼ tsp pepper. Add wine; cook 1 minute or until liquit almost evaporates. Remove tart from oven. Arrange the mushroom mixture evenly over top of tart; sprinkle with the remaining 1/3 cup cheese. Return tart to oven. Bake 3 to 5 minutes or until cheese melts.

    This is the cupcake recipe (a combination of a few recipes I found online):

    Pumpkin Cupcakes

    1/2 cup margarine
    1 3/4 cup whole wheat pastry flour
    2 teaspoons baking powder
    1/4 teaspoon baking soda
    1/3 cup brown sugar
    1 egg
    1/2 cup pumpkin
    1 large banana, mashed (about 2/3 cup)
    1 teaspoon vanilla
    1/4 cup unsweetened soy or almond milk
    1 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice
    1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
    1/4 teaspoon nutmeg

    Preheat oven to 350.

    Using a hand mixer, cream butter and sugar until fluffy. Add egg and vanilla and blend. Add pumpkin and banana. Stir in flour, baking soda and powder, and spices. Add milk and mix until batter is smooth. Fill baking cups 3/4 full. Bake mini cupcakes for 11-13 minutes and regular cupcakes for 20-25.

    No-Dairy Pumpkin Spice Cream Cheese Frosting

    1/4 cup silken-firm tofu
    1/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons Tofutti cream “cheese”
    1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract
    Splenda or sugar to taste
    Orange food coloring
    1 tsp pumpkin pie spice

    Blend everything except food coloring together in a food processor or blender. Add food coloring last. Frost just before serving.

  3. Great deal of meals, and thank you leah for posting the recipe :).

    I actually had that problem of not being able to fall asleep last night because of a growling stomach. I had literally ate an hour n half-2 hours later, but for some reason I was hungry again. So annoying!

Leave a Reply

