Healthy(ish) Eats on the Road: To DC and Back

Greetings! 🙂

Yesterday I had to take a quick day trip to DC and back and I thought I’d capture how I handle staying somewhat healthy while on the road.

Before I quit my job this summer, I had spent 2+ years traveling as a consultant all over the Southeast, spending almost every week on the road.

Traveling is TOUGH and it does make it much more challenging to stay healthy. The number one lesson I learned in my life from all of this travel is to give up control and go with the flow. Because we all know that so many things are out of our control when we travel. Flights are delayed, business lunches are not planned by us, meetings run late and we end up eating lunch at 3pm, security lines are long and we don’t have a chance to grab our morning coffee, the list goes on!

So I learned to give up control. It was a big lesson and it has impacted who I am today. My need for control over my days is far less, and I love being able to just do the best I can, regardless of the situation.

With that being said, on to yesterday!

5am wakeup call meant a dark morning waiting for a cab. No problem here, I zipped right on over to the airport.

IMG_5036.JPG

Then BAM. I was hit with a HUGE security line. I used to freak out about these things but I just don’t even let them bother me anymore.

No time for breakfast, but time to grab a coffee.

IMG_5037.JPG

Plane landed in DC at 8:15 and I surveyed my breakfast options. Basically, it was a panini, a cheeseburger, or a muffin the size of my head. AWESOME.

I went for an egg and cheese panini. We know how much I love my egg and cheeses.

IMG_5062.JPG

Eaten in the back of a cab on my way to the meeting. This was actually pretty good! I ate about 3/4 of it.

Meeting, Meeting, Meeting, lunch came at around 12:30.

IMG_5060.JPG

The options were great. Sandwiches, fruit salad, salad, and cookies. PAT ON MY BACK for not taking any cookies! 🙂 Woohooo. Maybe the first healthy decision I have made in 6 days since Thanksgiving started.

1/2 a chicken salad sandwich on whole wheat, some salad and fruit:

IMG_5061.JPG

Left the meeting around 3:15, back to the airport. Day trips are weird, man. It’s like rewinding a movie and you watch the character go backward back through the way they came, ya know? No? Follow? Ok anyway….

I needed a snack, but again, my options were panini, cheeseburger, or muffin the size of my head. I got a small skim cappuccino and sat to do some work while I killed time.

IMG_5059.JPG

Nope, internet wouldn’t connect. I tried for a solid 20 minutes, no luck. So I just perused the terminal, pacing back and forth and getting some “exercise”.

I needed something else to eat so I grabbed this Clif Bar before getting on the plane. I am not usually a bar person, but they definitely come in handy while traveling. I LOVED this flavor!

IMG_5058.JPG

After a delayed flight, a 30 minute wait for a taxi, and traffic on the way home, I asked my cab driver to drop me at fairway so I could keep things easy on myself and grab a salad at their salad bar.

IMG_5057.JPG

The salad was mainly veggies: spinach base, cucumbers, carrots, mushrooms, peppers, olives, beets, a little chicken and a little feta. Balsamic vinegar and a dash of truffle oil. Finally some greeeeens!

IMG_5063.JPG

Along with a free roll which I toasted and put butter on half and almond butter/honey on the other half.

I also capped off the night with a couple of small bakery cookies I had leftover from being home in CT.

So the moral of the story? It’s definitely hard to eat super duper healthy on the road, but it doesn’t need to be a total disaster either. Luckily, these days, there are usually always some healthy or healthier options at airports, so just do your best.

Now, off to grab some coffee and head to the grocery store. Mmmm my kinda morning 🙂 Have a good day!

P.S. If you want to see some other travel tips, here is a post I wrote about healthy snacks I usually bring for longer travels.

5 thoughts on “Healthy(ish) Eats on the Road: To DC and Back

Leave a Reply

