Tofu & Veggie Stir Fry with Pesto & Slivered Almonds

I talked the other day about how I like to have a lot of variety in my life. For instance, let’s take last week.

I ate both this:

IMG_4644.JPG

IMG_4648.JPG

And this:

IMG_4672.JPG

IMG_4676.JPG

It’s all about balance right? 😉

Too much cake and sugar makes me feel sluggish, cloudy and tired. Too many vegetables and strictly healthy food makes me feel bored and unsatisfied. A huge factor contributing to my health is knowing how to have a balance, indulging in cake every now and then and not feeling an ounce of guilt, and creating food for myself that is both healthy and satisfying at the same time.

IMG_4682.JPG

This is a really healthy breakfast or lunch, or even a quick dinner. For those days when your body just craves something purely good for it. However, I added some pesto to make it more interesting and satisfying. Pesto is high on the oil and fat, and has an extremely strong taste, so you only need a little. But it really adds a new dimension to a dish and leaves you with that satisfied “ok this wasn’t TOO healthy” feeling.

This is so simple to make. It took about 5 minutes. I just sautéed a few different veggies in a skillet, added tofu as I crumbled it over the pan, and once it was all done, I added slivered almonds and a scoop of pesto for some healthy fat.

IMG_4680.JPG

I think it is so important to have those go-to healthy meals that you know are both good for you but also things you actually like. Healthy food should not be punishment!

Okay, I think I have said enough :)… maybe this dish will inspire you to create something similar sometime. A healthy and satisfying meal in about 5 minutes.

Tofu & Veggie Stir Fry with Pesto and Slivered Almonds

  • Any veggies: I used red onions, carrots, mushrooms, spinach and tomato
  • 1/4 or so of a package of tofu. I used Soft, but you can use any type
  • 1 T slivered almonds
  • 1 T pesto
  • S&P

1. Cook all veggies (except for spinach) in a skillet. Once they are soft, add tofu. In the last few minutes, add the spinach. Season with S&P.

2. Top with almonds and stir in pesto.

Leave a Reply

