A Not Boring Veggie Sandwich

You have to keep things interesting, ya know?

IMG_4711.jpg

I was out with my friends the other night and we started talking about the types of things we cook and our cooking habits. A couple of us said that we never ever cook the same thing twice, and others said that they have standard recipes that they make over and over.

So what camp do I fall in? I am definitely the type of person who never makes the same thing twice. I make similar things, but I alwaayyys try to switch it up. In fact, I am pretty sure I have never created the exact same dish twice.


IMG_4714.JPG

You know the saying that the way you do one thing in life is the way you do everything? I completely agree with this. Not only do I always put together new concoctions in the kitchen, I also hardly ever do the same workout twice, wear the same exact outfit twice, and I generally need a TON of variety in my life. With my friends, in terms of how I spend my time, my work, everything. I love a little bit of this, a little bit of that in order to not get bored and keep life spicy 😉

IMG_4717.JPG

So on that note, a thought entered my head the other day that I wanted a veggie sandwich, but I didn’t want it to just be a few veggies, hummus and bread. No, it needed some flava.

On this sandwich, I layered garlic hummus, pumpkin, thinly sliced tomatoes, cucumbers, and oregano on cinnamon raisin bread. This was delicious and a good alternative to a standard veggie/hummus sandwich.

IMG_4722.JPG

I packed these sandwiches and brought them for my brother’s fiancé, Mara, and I for after our SoulCycle class that we went to last week. I had been eating out a ton, and I knew I needed some good homemade food in my body. So I quickly created this, sent her a pic and asked her if she’d like me to bring her one. A couple hours of later, after we sweat our hearts out in SoulCycle, we lunched on these sandwiches on a bench in Union Square. Veggie bliss, man.

IMG_4715.JPG

IMG_4713.JPG

A Not Boring Veggie Sandwich

  • 2 slices Ezekiel Cinnamon Raisin Bread (I always use Ezekiel Brand for my bread)
  • 2 heaping tablespoons hummus (or more)
  • 1 heaping tablespoon canned pumpkin
  • veggies of choice! Go Crazy. I used cucumbers and tomatoes
  • Dash of oregano

1. Slather hummus on both slices of bread, and add pumpkin to one or both sides. Layer veggies, top off with oregano. Smush together and BITE.

What “cooking style” camp do you fall into? Always dreaming up new creations or repeating the ones that work for you? I’d love to know!

Leave a Reply

