Lentil, Sweet Potato and Kale Stew

What is the line between Stew and Soup?? How much broth there is? I couldn’t figure out what to call this, maybe I should call it Stoup. Yes, Stoup.

ANYWHO, regardless of the name, this is some good hearty health you see here! Nothin’ but the good stuff. Good for you, good tasting, and extremely comforting in these cold wintry days (see more recipes like this one here).

IMG_4731.jpg

I’ve been wanting to make something similar to this for a while now, and decided to finally just throw it together over the weekend. I can actually tell that after a long year of cooking and blogging, I am finally getting “better” at cooking! Major accomplishments over here. I trust myself a lot more with recipes. I am starting to intuitively know how to put things together, how long to cook each ingredient, what spices would be good (the hardest part for me), and my own creative juices have started to flow.

Trust me, if I can get the hang of cooking the basics, you can too. I was pretty much clueless when this year began, but now I at least know:

a) nine times out of ten you will start with onion and garlic when cooking anything savory

b) baking powder and baking soda are, in fact, different and used for different purposes and

c) patience is king. things will burn, its a fact. slow down, keep the heat low, breathe. step away.

And that’s about all 🙂 Still learning!

IMG_4736.JPG

I love that this “stoup” is nothing but healthy. Every single ingredient is good for you. And it’s INCREDIBLY basic. I kept it very very simple because that’s how I like things. My sister asked that I do more “step by step” photos as I cook, so this one is dedicated to her.

So, you want to start by throwing in an onion, some garlic, chopped up sweet potato and carrots. Let it all just sit in a pot over medium heat for about 5-10 minutes to let it get a little soft.

IMG_4704.JPG

Then, you want to add the Kale. I added an entire bunch of Kale because I wanted some greens, baby!

IMG_4705.JPG

IMG_4706.JPG

Oh, Kale, You are so good for me. I love you.

Once the Kale has wilted, you add your dry lentils and some broth and/or water. I used a combination of 1.5 cups dry lentils, 4 cups broth, 2 cups water. But if you don’t have broth, just use water. It really doesn’t matter. If you do use water though, you’ll just want to make sure you season it with plenty of salt and pepper.

IMG_4710.JPG

Now, just turn up the heat until everything is brought to a boil, and then turn down the heat to a simmer and let it all simmer, uncovered, for about 40 minutes. You just want to make sure your lentils are cooked to your liking and then it can be done. My lentils ended up holding their shape and shell, and were a little bit “al dente”.

And then, you step back, look at your masterpiece, put some of it in a pretty bowl with hearts, grab a turquoise scarf to use as a background, and snap a photo of your accomplishment. It feels good.

IMG_4740.JPG

IMG_4737.JPG

I made a big batch of this and immediately froze a few containers of it for those nights when I cannot think about cooking and my hands are freezing off as I walk through my door, nose as red as a reindeer and cursing the cold Northeast weather. Yeah, it’s for those days. I REALLY hope you enjoy this. It is so so good for you and I am so happy to share this one with you!

Lentil, Sweet Potato and Kale “Stoup”

(loosely based on this recipe)

makes about 6 servings

  • 2 sweet potatoes, chopped into bite sized chunks
  • 2 large carrots, chopped
  • 1 small onion, white or red, chopped
  • 1 bunch of Kale, rinsed
  • 1.5 cups dry lentils (I recommend green because they hold their shape better)
  • 6 cups broth or water, or a mix (I used 4 cups broth/2 cups water)
  • 1 T chopped garlic
  • Salt and Pepper to Taste
  • 1 T Allspice
  • 1 T EVOO

1. Grab a big pot and heat the Olive Oil in it over medium heat

2. Add chopped onions and allow to cook for a minute or two while you chop your ‘taters and carrots. Then, add in your ‘taters and carrots, and toss in the garlic.

3. Allow this mixture to cook for 5-10 minutes while it all softens.

4. Add Kale. I roughly just pulled the kale into bite sized pieces with my hands, but you can chop it if you’d like.

5. Let the Kale wilt, then add in the dry lentils and water/broth combo. Add in spices.

6. Bring to boil, then reduce heat to a simmer and cook uncovered for about 40 minutes, or until the lentils have cooked to your liking (I like mine soft but not mushy).

Enjoy!!

IMG_4738.JPG

 

4 thoughts on “Lentil, Sweet Potato and Kale Stew

Leave a Reply

