Lightened Up Pumpkin Pie

As we all know, this has been a tough week on the East Coast, and NYC has been hit hard. Living on the Upper East Side of Manhattan, I got lucky and fortunately kept power and had no damage, but my heart goes out to everyone who has suffered a tremendous amount of loss.

It’s been incredible to watch people helping each other out in the city. Everyone is trying to pitch in in one way or another and give what they have to people who are without anything.

IMG_4411.JPG

Since my classes were cancelled all week, I stuck around my apartment and did what I could from here. Throughout the week I had friends and family come in and out charging their phones and laptops, getting work done, connecting to their friends and family, taking hot showers, and sleeping in an apartment with power. I was happy to be able to help out in such a small way.

I didn’t want to stray too far from my apartment since people kept getting in touch with me to come over, plus getting anywhere in the city all week was nearly impossible, and certainly not anything I wanted to do if it wasn’t necessary. So I stayed home, tried to take care of people, watched more news than I ever have in my life, served my refugees pancakes and hot coffee, and baked my first ever pie.

IMG_4386.jpg

I never used to understand when people said that cooking is a way for them to de-stress, but during a tough week last week, methodically measuring out ingredients and slowly creating something sounded so appealing.

IMG_4393.JPG

In fact, this pie inspired me to invite a bunch of people over for dinner on Friday night in an attempt to bring people together after a really rough week to just be together, de-stress and have a good time.

IMG_4391.JPG

It’s hard to know what to do in these types of situations. It’s hard to find your place and figure out how to help, what to do, what to say. I’m still trying to take it all in, figure it all out and think about how to help each day, as I know we all are.

Cooking for people is one way that I try to take care of them. It’s something that I can offer, and so during this crazy week when I didn’t know what else to do to help, it’s what I turned to.

IMG_4388.jpg

Lightened Up Pumpkin Pie

(adapted from this recipe from Cooking Light)

Crust:

  • 1/2 package refrigerated pie dough

Filling:

  • 3/4 C packed brown sugar
  • 12 oz can evaporated low fat milk
  • 2 large egg whites
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 15 oz can pumpkin (unsweetened)
  • 1/2 t cinnamon
  • 1/2 t nutmeg
  • 1/2 t allspice
  • 1/4 t salt

1. Preheat oven to 425 and position oven rack to lowest position

2. For filling: combing all ingredients in a bowl, stirring with a whisk.

3. For crust: roll dough into 11 inch circle; fit into a 9 inch pie plate coated with butter or cooking spray.

4. Pour filling intro crust. Place pie plate on baking sheet, and place baking sheet in oven. Bake for 10 minutes. Reduce oven to 350 (keep pie in oven), made for additional hour or until almost set. Allow to cool.

4 thoughts on “Lightened Up Pumpkin Pie

  1. Thanks for the warm apartment, electrical outlets and of course the unforgettable cinnamon, banana pancakes! Best Hurricane Sandy shelter on the UES courtesy of Casa Mendell – love you Jamie and thanks again!

Leave a Reply

