A Day of Eats

Good morning! I hope you all had a great weekend. Mine was filled with fun stuff including some awesome meals, an adventure to Brooklyn, and going to the Giants game yesterday. I also squeezed in a few hours of studying which I am thanking myself for on as I get my head back into the books this morning.

I always think it is interesting to see what people eat in a given day, and I always mean to participate in Jen’s What I Ate Wednesday posts. I’ve done it a few times in the past (here and here) but it has been a while. I always forget to snap photos of what I eat, but I happened to capture almost everything on Friday and thought I would share. So here goes!

IMG_4499.jpg

IMG_4500.JPG

I kicked the day off with an awesome bowl of Apple Pumpkin Oats. I made them on the stovetop with about a 1/2 cup rolled oats, 1/2 an apple, almond milk, water, pumpkin, a dash of vanilla extract and cinnamon. I then added a handful of chopped walnuts and drizzled it with about a teaspoon of maple syrup. Delish!

Study time… I ventured to Starbucks and had a Soy Misto (old picture):

photo-1.jpg

Lunch was veggie tacos:

IMG_4539.jpg

IMG_4540.JPG

Two corn tortillas, refried beans, avocado, tomato, Wild Harvest peach/mango salsa, sliced pepper. On the side, half a cucumber.

Later on in the afternoon, I hit the gym. But not before capturing a picture of myself in workout gear. I crack up when I look at the self pics I took… I have a new found appreciation for people who know how to take full length self portraits. It is not as easy at it looks!!

IMG_4544.jpg

40 minutes on the treadmill/elliptical and then back to studying.

For dinner, I made French Lentils and added them to boiled red potatoes and spinach, topped off with Asiago cheese:

IMG_4560.jpg

IMG_4561.jpg

IMG_4562.JPG

I don’t know why I never made lentils before. They are so easy and so good!

Here they are in the pan:

IMG_4564.JPG

I made them with garlic, onion, celery and carrots. Then just added the lentils and water and let it all simmer for about a half hour. This made a ton of leftovers which I will definitely be eating all week.

I went back for seconds… this was a great hearty combo.

I then headed out to a Happy Hour and then ventured to Brooklyn with some friends to go to a bar we like there.

Throughout the night, I just had two beers which I forgot to take pictures of, but here is a recycled pic to give you an idea:

photo.jpg

And that’s it! As a whole I would say that Friday was definitely a healthy-ish day for me. Honestly, my eating habits since school started have been all over the place, and I really have no “typical” days, but I think this one at least represents a few general themes I usually have… veggie heavy, carbs at every meal, not a ton of meat (actually, Friday had no meat which I wouldn’t say is typical), I try to not eat a ton of sugar (this does not always happen), good beer, coffee.

Hope you have a great Monday!

2 thoughts on “A Day of Eats

Leave a Reply

