A Quick Breakfast/A Quick Workout

Good morning! It’s Fridddayyyyy! We all made it to the weekend. Phew!

So thank you again for all of the incredible support that I received regarding my Career Change. I cannot express how much everyones’ comments/emails/messages meant to me. Thank you thank you thank you! (If you are just getting caught up, here is Part 1 and Part 2 of my Career Change).

Ok so let’s lighten things up around here shall we? Enough heavy posts for the week. Today I want to just show you a quick breakfast idea and a quick workout that I did yesterday. When I came up with my schedule of classes for the fall, I thought I would have so much time on my hands. I envisioned myself cooking legit meals, being really organized, having time for long workouts, etc. Well, turns out my “down time” is constantly packed with things to do and I am still very much in “I need a quick meal and a really fast workout” mode.

I had this breakfast yesterday before heading to the gym. It’s sort of another version of my Toast with Greek Yogurt and Grilled Peaches that I made earlier this week. Here, I just toasted up some Ezekiel Bread (the bread I always buy), added some 0% Fage Greek Yogurt, topped with a banana, and then drizzled with some warmed up Barney Butter Almond Butter. I heated a little dish of the Almond Butter for about 20 seconds to make it all drippy and then spooned it over the banana.

I have to say I was really disappointed when I opened up my brand new jar of Barney Butter yesterday morning. I have been a loyal purchaser of Barney Butter Almond Butter for about a year now and absolutely love it. I’ve tried many peanut/almond butters over the years but this is my favorite. However, when I opened this jar yesterday, it was almost rock hard. It’s like the really hard, sticky part that you usually find at the bottom of the jar had filled the entire thing!  For $10 a jar, I was not happy. Has this happened to anyone before? I actually emailed Barney Butter to see if they changed anything about their recipe, but haven’t heard back yet. We shall see!

After breakfast, I headed to the gym for a really quick workout that still left me feeling worked! I did about 23 minutes on the elliptical but at a high intensity so that my legs were really feeling it. I hopped off and headed to the mat for some abs. Here is what I did:

** Place Card Between Your Legs Crunches: obviously not a technical name but it’s something I remembered learning a long time ago. Basically, start in crunch position but with legs slightly apart. Start with arms outreached over your head. Bring arms up with your entire torso and act like you are placing a playing card down on the mat between your legs. Then go back down and start over. It gets your entire abdomen which I like!

I am all about the fast workouts. This workout left me feeling sweaty, yet energized and ready to take on the day. Exactly what a workout should do!

I don’t think you need to spend hours at the gym and personally, I get bored if I am there for more than 45 minutes or so. I’d much prefer to workout more often (more days of the week) but have the workouts be shorter rather than doing really long workouts a few days a week.

How long are your typical workouts? Do you prefer going for a short amount of time most days or a longer workout only a few days a week? 

Have a great Friday!

P.S. I updated the Recipe page so that it’s easier to find recipes.

4 thoughts on “A Quick Breakfast/A Quick Workout

  1. Oh gosh, I am SO excited for you! I am a big believer in following your heart and making changes for happiness…every time I’ve had to make a big decision like that, it’s been worth it. It hasn’t always led to this amazing dream life right away, but I always learn something really important about myself and get closer to figuring out what I want to be.

    Can’t wait to hear about your new adventure. Congrats!!

Leave a Reply

