Caramelized Banana Pancakes (Packed with Protein!)

Paaannncaaakkkesss! I can’t even remember the last time I had pancakes prior to this weekend. Usually I’m not a huge fan because I feel like after a couple of bites, I get bored. I also don’t love a huge hunk of flour sitting in my stomach. Girl needs some protein and something interesting! My solution? Protein pancakes with caramelized bananas.

My sister came over for brunch on Sunday and I was doing the cooking. Jenna isn’t too picky but she also speaks her mind and the last thing I wanted to hear was that she didn’t like my food. I couldn’t let her down. Coming off of a Saturday night filled with a few glasses of wine, pancakes sounded like the perfect lazy morning brunch food. I remembered making a protein filled pancake back in the day, made with just oats and egg whites, and I decided to bring it back. With a twist.

Caramelized banana. Yeaaa, I went there. I texted Jenna to pick up some bananas, and threw them on the grill pan right when she walked in. I let them sit for just a few minutes on each side so that the heat brought out all of that delicious natural sugar. YUM. They were so good just by themselves!

The pancakes were ridiculously easy to make. And are pretty much the healthiest pancakes you can put together. No flour, no sugar, no milk. Just some oats and egg whites, cinnamon, and vanilla. I did however cook them in a little bit of butter because butter makes everything better! You can’t be TOO healthy after all. That’s no fun.

We caught up while I cooked and set the table all pretty. Served with some maple syrup and some solid sisterly bonding. I love my sister and was so happy to be able to serve her this homemade meal that was not only tasty and delicious but also good for us on the inside.

This is a great quick recipe that has all of the components of a well rounded breakfast. Some healthy carbs from the oats, protein from the egg whites, and a full serving of fruit from the banana. I basically took this recipe straight from Kath, and only modified it by caramelizing the banana first. I hope you make these and enjoy them! You can also make several of these in bulk and freeze them individually. Take them out on a weekday and pop them in the microwave.

P.S. A little tip for using syrup on pancakes: instead of spreading syrup all over your pancakes, put some syrup into a little side bowl and dip each bite into it! It helps you use less syrup and get a little bit on every bite 🙂

Protein Packed Caramelized  Banana Pancakes (made with Oats and Egg Whites): 

This makes 3 large pancakes (serves 2 because the pancakes are pretty big and hearty)

  • 1 cup of quick oats (I used Quaker)
  • 1 cup liquid egg whites
  • 1 t cinnamon
  • 1 t vanilla
  • 2 bananas, sliced.
  • 1 or 2 T  butter (I used Earth Balance), depending on size of skillet. You just need enough to line the pan while cooking the pancakes.

1. Get your bananas cookin’. Heat up a grill pan or skillet and add some cooking spray. Once hot, lay down the sliced banana. Let these hang out for a few minutes over medium heat. Then flip, and let them cook on the other side for a few minutes until soft and browned.

2. Mix up the first 4 ingredients in a bowl.

3. I had to make one pancake at a time, but if your skillet is large enough, just do it all at the same time. For one pancake at a time–heat up a skillet and lay down about a 1/3 of the butter. Let it melt and swirl it around.Lay down 1/3 of the pancake mix and add slices of banana to the uncooked side. Once the uncooked side starts lightly bubbling, flip the pancake. Let it cook for another minute or so and then take it off. Repeat until pancake batter is finished.

4. Top with maple syrup or use my little syrup trick (above).

Enjoy!

 

 

One thought on “Caramelized Banana Pancakes (Packed with Protein!)

  1. Pingback: Cold Weather Comfort Foods that Won’t Weigh You Down | StudioEats

Leave a Reply

