A Simple but Special Breakfast: Toast with Yogurt and Grilled Peaches

IMG_3934.JPG

On Saturday morning I had to wake up and work on Organic Chemistry. What a way to kick off a Saturday, huh? It was not fun. If anyone has taken this class before, you know how painful it can be. It literally seems impossible to wrap your head around the material.

At one point I got so frustrated that I threw down my pencil, noisily pushed back my chair and stormed into my kitchen. Clearly, I needed brain fuel. It was almost noon and I hadn’t eaten anything yet. That MUST have been the reason I couldn’t wrap my head around stereoisomers, chirality, and stereogenic centers (um… yea).

IMG_3940.JPG

It was Saturday and it was absolutely beautiful outside. I refused to let the Saturday morning slip by without it being special and different from any old weekday morning. So I opened up my windows to let in the breeze and decided to cook something a little different. I took out my brand new grill pan, heated it on up, and sliced a peach. A couple of minutes on each side and I had those amazing grill marks that put a smile on my face.

IMG_3935.JPG

I took two slices of Ezekiel bread, spread it with Fage Greek Yogurt, and topped it with my warm grilled peaches. A drizzle of honey on top, and I had a special breakfast, something worthy of a Saturday.

Served alongside piping hot coffee, and I had myself a delicious breakfast that took no more than 5 minutes to prepare.

IMG_3938.JPG

This was the perfect study break and allowed me to kick back and leisurely enjoy those 20 minutes on my Saturday morning. And then it was back to the books…

4 thoughts on “A Simple but Special Breakfast: Toast with Yogurt and Grilled Peaches

  1. This looks delicious! I really need to spice up my breakfast routine..I find myself making the same thing every day for months at a time until I get sick of it, then I switch it up for a while. My yogurt bowls have been going strong for a while now, but this looks like an easy and delicious switch to change things up a bit!

  2. Dear Jamie- Congratulations ! You have taken a courageous step. I am sure this will be the start of many adventures for you. Striving for a goal and achieving it is exhilarating. Enjoy the ride! Thanks for sharing. (What is Ezekiel bread?) Love, Roz Friedman

Leave a Reply

