Cherry-Chipotle Chili- Beware of the Heat!

As I mentioned, I am in Greece so am having my lovely friends post this week! This is from one of my best friends, Romy. Romy tries to maintain a Gluten Free diet so this may be good for anyone interested in GF recipes!

I don’t often cook directly from recipes, but a recipe for Cherry-Chipotle Chili from Self.com intrigued me with the spice and fruity sweetness it promised. It also looked easy, so I decided to give it a try 🙂

First, diced carrots and onions are browned in EVOO with lean ground turkey, chopped garlic and some salt and pepper.

Then comes the first bit of spice with chili powder, adding in canned diced tomatoes, cherries, chipotles and bay leaves. I chose to use frozen dark sweet cherries. Now, I enjoy some spice…however, either I made a mistake using canned chipotle “peppers” instead of canned chipotle “chilies”, or this recipe is meant to be very, very spicy because I just about died from the heat when I tasted what was in the can! I only used half a can (instead of 2) of the peppers plus the juice, so I would say add the peppers/chilies carefully. The final produce turned out spicy enough for me with just that amount.

I was concerned by how much liquid was in the pot, but after 15 minutes of boiling then simmering, it was the perfect consistency. I added cannellini beans and let it thicken more.

The final product tastes much more delicious than it looks, and the cherries made it really delicious. I am always trying to add sweetness to what I cook so this was a perfect way to sneak it in – and it only took 30 minutes. Cherries also apparently “jump-start your immune system and mop up free radicals”. Sounds good to me! Hope you enjoy.

Ingredients

  • 2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1/2 lb lean ground turkey
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt (preferably kosher)
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 2 medium carrots, diced
  • 1 medium yellow onion, diced
  • 1 tablespoon chopped garlic
  • 1 tablespoon chili powder
  • 1 can (28 oz) diced tomatoes
  • 2 cups pitted black cherries (fresh or frozen)
  • 2 canned chipotle chilies, diced, plus sauce
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 1 can (15 oz) white beans (such as cannellini or navy), rinsed and drained
  • 1/4 cup nonfat plain Greek yogurt (optional)
  • Chopped fresh cilantro (optional)

Preparation

  1. In a large pot, heat oil over medium-high heat. Cook turkey with salt and pepper, stirring, until browned, 5 to 10 minutes. Add carrots, onion and garlic; cook, stirring occasionally, until carrots soften, 3 to 5 minutes. Stir in chili powder. Add tomatoes, cherries, chipotles, bay leaves and 1/2 cup water; bring to a boil. Reduce to a simmer; cook, stirring once or twice, until chili thickens, 10 to 15 minutes. Add beans; cook 2 minutes. Flavor with chipotle sauce to taste. Remove bay leaves. Divide chili among 4 bowls. Top each with 1 tbsp yogurt and garnish with cilantro, if desired, before serving.

2 thoughts on “Cherry-Chipotle Chili- Beware of the Heat!

  1. Pingback: Thank YOU, for Real | StudioEats

Leave a Reply

