Veggie Bowl with Pesto and Cheese

Do you ever just crave a giant bowl of veggies? No? I feel like I hear crickets out there.

photo 2

Well, I do. Every now and then all I want is a big bowl of veggies for lunch or dinner. But plain veggies is a little boring, even for me. So let’s spice it up a bit! Pesto and some real, authentic good cheese can take a healthy veggie bowl to the next level.

photo 1

Simply cook your veggies or chop them raw. Personally, I like a mix of cooked and raw veggies, so here you’ll see that I sliced up an entire zucchini and sautéed it with some S&P and olive oil cooking spray. I then added chopped 1 large raw carrot and 2 medium sized tomatoes.

photo 1 (2)

1 Tablespoon of Pesto and a couple Tablespoons of grated Asiago cheese went on top (clearly I had leftovers from my Homemade Pizza). Mixed all together, this was a healthy, light lunch. The pesto and cheese made it delicious and very satisfying, and because of the cooked zucchini, the cheese melted all over the veggies. Yum! For a little more staying power, you could top this with chicken, or any leftover protein that you have on hand.

photo 4

Enjoy!

One thought on “Veggie Bowl with Pesto and Cheese

  1. Pingback: Cold Weather Comfort Foods that Won’t Weigh You Down | StudioEats

Leave a Reply

