Quite the Lunch Break

A couple of months ago I wrote about how nice it is to sometimes take a real Lunch Break from work. I wasn’t planning on taking any sort of lunch break today, but I got an email this morning from my friend Katie asking if I wanted to use a Scoutmob coupon that we had bought several weeks ago.

The coupon was $10, and it got us a sandwich, drink and chips, plus a $10 book credit at a bookstore called HousingWorks downtown. HousingWorks is stocked completely with donated books, and since her and I both love bookstores and food, we thought this would be a great purchase and a fun activity for us.

We ventured downtown and headed into the cafe.

photo 2 (3)

photo 1 (3) photo 5

The book choices were really interesting, and since they were all donated, this was not your typical bookstore. Some looked new, but you could tell some had been passed along and had reached many people before hitting the stands.

It took me forever to pick out a book. I usually like to take my time perusing the aisles, but I didn’t have endless time to search since I knew I had to get back to work. I finally ended up with “Cutting for Stone” which I heard was great and Katie bought her 2nd copy of “Love in the Time of Cholera” since she lost her original copy. Since we had our $10 credit, we didn’t have to take out our wallets for these books. Sweet!

photo 1

Also without taking out our wallets, we both picked out the turkey/apple/brie sandwich on a baguette, chips, and ice waters.

photo 3 photo 4

The sandwiches were heated and brought out to us. They were delicious!

We didn’t want the fun to stop there, so we headed over to Delicatessen for a dessert to share.

photo 3 (2)

(I spy Katie on the right)

photo 2 (2)

I’ve walked past this place a million times but have never eaten here. We sat outside and were convinced by the waitress to order their Dessert Special. Honey mousse on top of a raisin cake and white chocolate. Some sort of figs around the edges, and a side of cinnamon gelato that we special ordered.

photo 4 (2)

photo 3 (3)

photo 5 (2) photo 1 (2)

This was SO delicious. It was one of those desserts you eat in little bites and savor each one of those bites.

“Sometimes you just have to treat yourself” is what we said to each other. 80 degree weather, sidewalk seating, and a divine dessert split between friends. Quite a lunch break! And quite a way to start off the week. Now back to work 😉

Leave a Reply

