Fresh Cranberry Bean Salad with Tomatoes and Cucumber

I am obsessed with Farmer’s Markets. I love them. Maybe it is because I am slightly (ok, very) obsessed with vegetables, or maybe it is the friendly people, or maybe just knowing that everything you buy from there is something you can trust.

Near where I live, there is this teeny tiny one-stand market run by this one guy in the summer time. He is the same farmer who taught me last summer to take his corn and eat it straight from the cob, no cooking necessary. He pleaded with me to give it a shot, claiming how truly sweet it was. He was right—now, in the summertime, I only eat my corn straight from the cob.

He sets up his stand a block from my apartment and I was so excited to see him this past weekend for the first time. I was even more excited when I saw these:

photo 1

I stopped dead in my tracks. Have you seen anything grown from the earth so gorgeous??

photo 2

“What are these? What do I do with these??”, I asked him. He told me they are Cranberry Beans and he peeled one open so that I could take a look.

photo 3

Sold! Sold to the girl in the sweaty gym clothes. I took these home and immediately started looking up recipes which included Cranberry Beans. I had never heard of these or seen these before, but I quickly learned that cooking fresh beans only takes about twenty minutes and can be cooked just like any other bean.

photo 4

I de-shelled the beans and gave them a quick rinse.

photo 5

I then added the beans to a pan, filled it with water, and allowed the water to boil. Once it was boiling, I covered the pan and let them simmer for about 20 minutes. Finito!

photo 1 (2)

While they were simmering, I chopped up a few tomatoes, 1 large cucumber, and half a red onion. When the beans were done, I added them to the mix:

photo 2 (2)

For a light dressing, I mixed up 2 tablespoons of olive oil, 3 tablespoons of lemon, and 1 heaping teaspoon of oregano.

photo 3 (2)

This made a huge batch (pictured above is only about 1/3) and I have had it to eat all week.

photo 4 (2)

I’ve used this as a salad topper on top of spinach for a refreshing salad…

photo 5 (2)

And yesterday, I added a hearty serving of this to brown rice and feta for a portable lunch for work.

photo 3 (3)

I hope you enjoy this, or any variation of this, as a side dish, a main dish, or just something healthy to snack on throughout the week!

Fresh Cranberry Bean Salad with Tomatoes and Cucumber

  • Fresh Cranberry Beans (I used about 25 beans). If you can’t find cranberry beans, you can pick up any variety of beans at your grocery store. Fresh or canned will work.
  • 3 tomatoes
  • 1 large cucumber
  • 1/2 red onion
  • 1 lemon
  • 2 T olive oil
  • 1 heaping t oregano

1. If using fresh beans, de-shell the beans and give the beans a rinse.

2. Add beans to pan, cover with about two inches of water. Bring to boil, then allow to simmer for about 20 minutes or until tender but not mealy.

3. Meanwhile, chop vegetables and onion.

4. Add beans to veggies.

5. For the dressing, combine bottom three ingredients in a small bowl. Whisk together and then spread over salad. Toss.

One thought on “Fresh Cranberry Bean Salad with Tomatoes and Cucumber

  1. Gosh, I love farmers markets too. So so much. I didn’t realize what I had been missing out on until I moved to Boston.

    This looks delicious, AND I’m going to have to try eating my corn straight from the cob!

Leave a Reply

