Mediterranean Chicken with Tomatoes, Artichokes and Olives

Good morning!

I hope you all had a great weekend. I’m excited to share a few great recipes with you this week. Yesterday, my creative juices were flowing and I was able to finally get in the kitchen and cook!

Last night, we had a potluck dinner for my friend, Ken’s, 26th birthday. 11 of us gathered at my apartment and we each contributed a dish. Brussels Sprouts, Sweet Potato Fries, Homemade Mac & Cheese, Walnut/Goat Cheese Salad, Bakery cookies and plenty of appetizers filled my little studio apartment.

My contribution was the Mediterranean chicken. I had a vision in my head of what I wanted to do, googled several recipes and formulated my idea.

photo 1

This recipe is so simple and is virtually a one pan meal for a large group or family. I pan seared each piece of chicken first in a skillet for literally 1 minute so that they were crispy, but I don’t think that was even necessary. Some of the recipes I read said to do that first, but I don’t totally understand the point of it.

photo 2

I then placed all of the chicken breasts in a large pan, topped it with a can of Italian-flavored plum tomatoes, two cans of quartered artichoke hearts, and a can of black olives which I chopped in half. Finally, a sprinkle of feta on top.

photo 4

Popped into a 350 oven for 30 minutes and voila:

photo 2 (2)

I will absolutely be making this again. The chicken came out so tender because it was baked slowly in a liquid, and the flavors all came together perfectly. Not to mention that this is extremely healthy. Chicken, veggies, and a little cheese. And that’s it!

Happy Birthday again to my friend Ken… hopefully this next year is a good as the last 🙂

Mediterranean Chicken with Tomatoes, Artichokes and Olives

(serves 10-11)

  • 1 chicken breast per person you want to feed. What you see above is 11 thin sliced chicken breasts
  • 2 cans artichoke hearts, quartered
  • 1 large can of Italian style tomatoes. I used plum, but any kind will work. Keep the juices.
  • 1 can black olives, chopped
  • 1/2 cup feta cheese
  • 2 T olive oil
  • S&P
  • dash of oregano

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

2. Spread olive oil on bottom of pan, and lay chicken on top of it. Season chicken with S&P and oregano

3. On top of chicken, add the artichokes, tomatoes, and olives. Top with feta.

4. Bake in oven for about 30 minutes, or until chicken is cooked through.

One thought on “Mediterranean Chicken with Tomatoes, Artichokes and Olives

  1. Pingback: Mediterranean Lentils Over Brown Rice | StudioEats

Leave a Reply

