Scrambled Eggs with Fresh Corn and Tomatoes

What a week! I’ll be the first to admit that I don’t handle stress that well. The good thing is that it takes a lot to stress me out, but when I do get stressed I realllly stress. So last night I knew I needed a night to totally disconnect and hang out with myself.

I was in CT for work yesterday, so after a long commute home, I stepped off the train and into the gorgeous weather that we are currently enjoying in NY. A smile immediately found its way on my face. Nice weather gets me every time.

photo 1

So does ice cream. On my stroll home I stopped in to Tasti D-Lite. I kept it classic with a vanilla cone with chocolate sprinkles. Licked like a little kid. There’s something about getting ice cream on a cone that is fun. Note to self: eat ice cream on a cone more often.

I came home and finally sat on my couch for the first time all week.
Ahhhh. I turned on my DVR, which was in major need of some attention, and an hour or so later, created this:

photo 3

Eggs with corn, tomatoes and a laughing cow cheese. Easy, simple, healthy and satisfying. Paired with an Ezekiel Sprouted Grain English muffin with almond butter and strawberry jelly. Perfect food alongside the Bachelorette and Glee Project. Yea I’m a huge TV dork. Whatever. I’m rooting for Nellie on the Glee Project just in case you wanted to know. I kind of love her and think she’d make a really interesting character on Glee.

photo 4
I unplugged last night. I let myself relax. I let my brain shut off. I indulged in the drama of TV characters instead of thinking about my own. It was needed. Today, I have my skip back in my step. I’d call last night a success!

Scrambled Eggs with Fresh Corn and Tomatoes

  • 1 egg
  • 2 egg whites
  • 1 ear of corn on the cob
  • 1/2 large tomato
  • 1 laughing cow cheese
  • 1 t butter (I used Earth Balance) or cooking spray
  • Pepper

1. Spray a small skillet or coat with teaspoon of butter.

2. Mix egg and egg whites in a bowl, add in a tablespoon of water if you’d like.

3. Slowly cook the eggs over low heat. Add the corn straight from the cob (no pre-cooking of the corn necessary), add chopped tomato.

4. Once the eggs are pretty well cooked, add wedge of cheese. Season with pepper.

How was your week? How do you relax when you are feeling overwhelmed?

One thought on “Scrambled Eggs with Fresh Corn and Tomatoes

  1. Between your ice cream cone and your dinner, everything looks absolutely amazing (insert drooling!!).

    **I’ve had a wonderful, and relaxing week. As weird as it may sound, when I’m feeling overwhelmed I go for a LR.. like 6-13 mile runs. I’m not sure what it is, but it gives me such a “runners high” and brings me right back where I need to be.

    Have a wonderful weekend ❤

Leave a Reply

