Omelet On the Run

A quick post this morning with a quick breakfast idea. The other day I found myself out of yogurt which prevented me from making my usual breakfast. I scoured my fridge and found an unopened carton of egg whites and some spinach on it’s last leg. My mind started stirring and I immediately wanted an omelet.

But I have to head to work. No time for an omelet. Well I guess I could. I could make it now and throw it in a tupperware and see if that works. Alright, I decided to give it a shot.  I cooked up an omelet while getting ready, tossed it into a tupperware and ate it at work. And it worked! It wasn’t gross or soggy or ruined at all. I was so excited, I made a similar concoction the next day, this time with zucchini.

photo 1

I chopped up the zucchini and let it sauté on low heat while I got ready in the morning. Hair, makeup, outfit, zucchini is still cookin’. After about 10 minutes, I added in some egg whites, also cooked on low heat. Grab my bag, get everything together, head back to the stove. I added in a laughing cow cheese, added a piece of bread to a plastic ziplock. Out the door!photo 4

photo 5

I was so happy that I found this idea as another good quick portable breakfast for those busy work mornings and I just had to share it with you. Super simple, super healthy.

  • veggie of choice—I chopped up a zucchini one day, spinach another
  • 1/2 cup to 3/4 cup egg whites
  • 1 laughing cow cheese
  • S&P
  • a tupperware

1. Sautee the veggies until cooked through, about 5 or 10 minutes, on low heat

2. Add in egg whites. Allow to sit for a few minutes

3. Add in cheese. Fold over into omelet style.

4. Pack it up and go!

This morning I was back to my usual:

photo 1 (2)

Mmmm look at the colors of that nectarine! Like a sunrise 🙂

photo 2 (2)

Do you have any good quick on the run breakfast ideas? I’d love to hear!

One thought on “Omelet On the Run

Leave a Reply

