What I ate Wednesday (WIAW): 6.26.2012

Good morning! I just wrote out this entire post and then accidentally deleted it at the very last second. How awesome? I’m going to try to convince myself that the rest of my Wednesday will not operate on that same wavelength 🙂

Anyway, I am really excited to do my second WIAW post, even though it is again Tuesday’s eats like it will always be because I like to get this out Wednesday mornings. Thanks again to Jenn for hosting!

So here we go. Breakfast started out with some overnight oats:

Photo1

The night before, I grabbed a tupperware and added:

  • 1/4 cup oats (usually use a 1/2 cup but its all I had left)
  • 3/4 cup 0% Fage Greek Yogurt
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1 T flax
  • 1 chopped up apricot (fresh not dried)
  • handful of almonds
  • lots of cinnamon

Refrigerate, sleep, wake up, grab. Love it!

Alongside my breakfast I also had some Ginger tea. Usually I drink coffee in the mornings but I woke up with a weird stomachache and decided to go with the tea to help it out. Luckily, it did the trick and I started feeling better by mid-morning.

Before lunch, I headed out for a short walk. I’ve been trying to get out of my office for at least a 20 minute walk everyday to stretch my legs and enjoy the weather. I grabbed a hot cup of coffee since I missed it in the morning and headed out for a stroll. I covered about 1.5 miles in 20-25 minutes. The weather really felt like fall yesterday, so strolling around with hot coffee got me really excited for fall to roll around!

Next, lunchtime:

Photo2

I brought an Ezekiel Sprouted Grain English Muffin with a turkey burger, mashed up avocado, thick slices of tomato and ketchup. Red pepper slices on the side for some crunch.

Photo6

This was so good! Mashed up ripe avocado rules.

Snacks:

Photo4

And a handful of these:

Photo3

After work I headed to do some yoga with friends. My brother’s fiance’s friend’s sister (HA) is a yoga teacher out in Portland. She was visiting NYC this week so they got some girls together to have her teach a yoga class to. They have a beautiful apartment on the West Side with an amazing rooftop, so our original plan was to do the yoga class on the roof. However, after hiking up there we realized the wind was way too strong to do it up there… our yoga mats wouldn’t even stay down! We ended up moving around their living room furniture and squishing in their apartment. It worked out great, and Heather was an incredible yoga teacher. She led us through about an hour of Vinyasa and we all agreed that she showed us some moves we had never done before. She also had really good tunes to go along with it. Thanks again Heather!! 🙂

photo 4

It was 9pm by the time I left their apartment and I was STARVING. I booked it in a cab to Fairway on 86th street to hit up their to-go salad bar. To any New Yorkers out there, this is an awesome deal. For $9 you can get a masssiiivee salad with any toppings you want, and Fairway’s produce is really top notch. I definitely grab these salads pretty often when I am in a rush but want something super healthy and designed by moi.

photo 2

This is only about 2/3 of the serving they gave me. It is seriously gigantic.

In the salad I put:

  • Spinach base
  • Artichokes
  • Olives
  • Cucumber
  • Carrots
  • Peppers
  • Beets
  • Goat Cheese
  • Jalapenos <—MISTAKE. My mouth was on fire and I was tearing.
  • Balsamic Vinegar and EVOO

All Chopped Up!

photo 1

And a few animal crackers for dessert:

photo 3

And then I quickly hit the hay. Nothing beats crawling into bed after a long yoga class 🙂

And there we have it, another day of my eats. Here’s to a quick end to this week!

10 thoughts on “What I ate Wednesday (WIAW): 6.26.2012

    • Hey! I buy them at Fairway. They are usually in the freezer or refrigerated section. I get the english muffins and also the Ezekiel Sprouted Grain bread. 🙂

  1. thanks for the post, jam! and thanks for the yoga, heather…if/when you read this. I seriously went to bed w a huge smile on my face 🙂

  2. Pingback: A Day of Eats | StudioEats

Leave a Reply

