What I Ate Wednesday (WIAW): First Edition

As a long time blog reader, I have come across many WIAW posts, where different bloggers post about what they ate for a given day. I always think its interesting and it also gives me ideas about what to make, what to bring as snacks to work, what quick meals I can put together, etc. So here is my first WIAW, with Tuesday’s eats. I hope you like it and thanks to Jenn at Peas & Crayons for hosting!

Breakfast: about 3/4 cup Fage 0% yogurt, sliced nectarine, handful of salted almonds (meant to buy unsalted, oops), about 3/4 cup Kashi Go Lean, drizzle of honey.

photo 1 (2)

photo 2 (2)

Lunch: Spinach salad with chopped carrots and homemade dressing (balsamic vinegar, spicy mustard, maple syrup), and a sharp cheddar and strawberry jam sandwich on an Ezekiel Sprouted Grain English Muffin. I got this idea from Kath’s blog and have been wanting to make it for a while. It was so good!

photo 3 (2)

photo 4 (2) photo 2

Snack: Two Cookies

photo 4

Dinner: It was my best friend, Amanda’s, birthday and we went to Back Forty for a Crab Boil. For anyone living in NY, I highly recommend this as a place for a birthday or large group event. Every Tuesday, Back Forty has a Crab Boil and you buy tickets for $60 in advance which includes all you can eat crabs, sides such as cornbread, spiced potatoes and green beans and fruit cobbler for dessert. The $60 also includes tax and gratuity.

photo 2 (4)

Amanda’s boyfriend did an awesome job organizing this and he ensured that we got a table outside in the Garden. We lucked out in terms of the weather and it was the perfect night to sit outside for hours. It’s really rare that you find a place in NYC with a huge backyard like this so we all really appreciated the laid back atmosphere.

photo 3 (4) photo 5

551687_10100103546214377_592722890_n

543237_10100103543988837_487105852_n

It was incredibly messy, and man, you had to work for your food. But it was so worth it. The experience was unique and the food was really delicious.

photo 1 (3)

The birthday girl and her Strawberry Rhubarb Cobbler with a candle! Happy Birthday Mands! (sorry for the crappy pics… I am still just using my iPhone and the lighting was tough)

photo 3 (3)

So what did I even eat? Well, I’d say about 8 crabs (there is barely any crab meat in each), a piece of cornbread, several green beans, a few potatoes and half of my cobbler. Oh and about a beer and a half. I also snuck some corn bread in my bag for another day… 🙂

photo (7)

And here we are. Me on the left, Amanda (bday girl), and my other best friend Romy. The three of us have known each other since freshman year of college and have been best friends ever since. Good times 😉

6 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday (WIAW): First Edition

    • haha well they are super healthy cookies! They are my compost cookies. I like making cookies that are healthy enough to be snacks and not just dessert. im glad you liked my first WIAW though! 🙂

  1. Pingback: A Day of Eats | StudioEats

Leave a Reply

