A Summer Dessert: Sautéed Grapefruit with Ricotta

photo 1

As I mentioned yesterday, I am aiming for a healthy couple of days coming off of a not so healthy weekend. Yesterday was just that…. success! My planning ahead definitely helped and I enjoyed delicious homemade food all day long.

Last night after a filling dinner of sweet potato fries and a turkey burger, I was in need of a little somethin’ somethin’. Although I love my froyo, I wanted to keep it light.

photo 2

In walked this idea. I honestly wish I had a grill, but I live in a shoebox in NY and very few of us have grills. This would have probably been even better had I grilled the grapefruit, but sautéing also produces a delicious result.

photo 1 (2)

Here, I simply cut up a grapefruit into bite sized chunks, tossed it in a packet of Truvia that I had hanging around (I don’t really use fake sugar but had this packet lying around from a while ago and it was the only sugar I had on hand).

photo 2 (2)

Sautéed it in a pan for about 2-3 minutes until the grapefruit was hot. When you cook it, it makes it even sweeter!

I then topped it with a dollop of ricotta, a few mini morsels and a drizzle of honey.

photo 3 (2)

photo 3

Simple, summery perfection. This will definitely be repeated. The ricotta was so rich and creamy on top of a super sweet, light summer fruit. Of course a few mini chocolate morsels can’t hurt, and they melted all over the hot grapefruit and ricotta. Mmmm…..

Sautéed (or grilled) Grapefruit with Ricotta:

1 serving

  • 1 grapefruit, peeled and sliced into chunks
  • about 1/4 cup ricotta cheese or a little less
  • 1 T mini chocolate chips
  • 2 t sugar
  • 1 t honey

1. Toss grapefruit chunks in sugar

2. Place grapefruit into a heated pan, sauté for 2-3 minutes until hot.

3. Top with remaining ingredients. Let the chocolate melt. Enjoy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

