Via Quadronno

Last night my sister and I ventured to a cute block on the Upper East Side to a place that I have had recommended to me multiple times, Via Quadronno. I kept hearing that they were famous for their cappuccinos and paninis, so although they did have a full Italian menu, we obviously knew what we had to get!

When I first saw the restaurant, I knew it was going to be awesome. Just look at how cute it is!

I love the flower balconies on top 🙂

The restaurant definitely has an authentic Italian cafe type of feel. It’s small, with only these two tables in the front (where we sat), a bar area where they serve up the coffee and gelato, and a small room in the back with tables.

Immediately, we ordered decaf skim cappuccinos. My sister is apparently a big cappuccino connoisseur which was news to me, but she explained exactly how she knew that this was a good cappuccino. Something about how the sugar just sat on top of the foam and didn’t sink, indicating that the foam was nice and thick. Something along those lines… right Jenna? 😉

These were really good cappuccinos. Mine lasted almost my entire meal and, to my surprise, went alongside the panini perfectly.

After much debate and asking three different waiters for their “favorite panini”, we finally decided.

I got the “Tentazione” which had prosciutto, smoked mozzarella, rucola, shrimp, and pink sauce.

It had cold, crunchy green lettuce and the shrimp was also cold. Topped with a warm pink sauce and melted cheese, the contrast between the cold ingredients, the warm ingredients and the perfectly crunchy bread was amazing. I would definitely order mine again.

My sister got the “La Madunina” with prosciutto, fresh mozzarella, black olive paté and fresh tomatoes.

You could tell that Via Quadronno doesn’t mess around with their ingredients. The mozzarella was the real thing- soft and flavorful (I hate when I get mozzarella and it is taste-less!)- and the olive pate was a bold touch to a normal prosciutto, mozzarella and tomato sandwich. In the end, I think we both agreed that mine was better, mainly because of the crunchy greens.

Overall, this is definitely a restaurant that I’d go back to. I love the combo of cappuccinos and paninis and the restaurant itself was adorable. It is a bit on the pricey side, but if you stick to the paninis then you can get a pretty good deal. I’m happy to say I can check this one off of my “restaurants in the city to try” list!

What’s a good restaurant you’ve been to lately? Ever had the panini/cappuccino combination? 

Leave a Reply

