The 35 Minute I-Just-Rolled-Out-Of-Bed Treadmill Workout

The thought of waking up for a morning workout at 6 am can be killer. Most of the time as my alarm starts blaring I just want to snuggle under the covers and never come out. BUT, I do know the amazing feeling of a morning workout and frankly, few things really beat that feeling.

One of my main tips for getting myself up-and-at-‘em in the morning is to plan a workout I look forward to! Exercise should not be painful or something you dread. So, that’s where my “I Just Rolled Out of Bed (so please don’t make me workout) Workout” comes in to play.

This workout eases you in and has built in walking breaks to give you a breather. It’s not easy moving so fast at 6 am, so give yourself a break!

Microsoft Excel - workouts

Don’t get me wrong. I was still VERY sweaty during/after this workout. Those walking “breaks” aren’t really breaks 😉 due to the 12% incline. This turned out to be 3 miles for me and it was a fantastically sweaty, challenging and fun workout.

Here are some of my tips that have helped me get into the habit of working out first thing in the morning:

Plan your workout ahead of time: Last night as I was sitting in bed I used the Notes app on my iPhone to plan this workout. That way, as my alarm decided to disturb my sleep, and I stumbled out of bed still dreaming, I didn’t even have to think.

photo 1

Download good music: Good music is fun! Workouts should be fun!

At least give yourself the option to workout in the morning: I wasn’t sure last night if I would be up for a morning workout, so I set two alarms. One at 6 (workout), one at 7 (no workout). This way, I at least had the option to workout. Who woulda thunk… 6am won!

photo 2

Have your clothes laid out and ready:  Again, as you stumble out of your bed with your head still in the clouds, you have to think about one less thing.

Plan a workout that is enjoyable: Like I mentioned before, do not plan something that you are going to dread. Maybe enjoyable for you is watching the Today show while on the elliptical, or going for a morning walk with a cup of coffee, or doing a strength training workout to good music. Try to make it enjoyable!

Habit habit habit: I know you’ve heard this before but I really believe that anything can be made into a habit. A few months ago, you couldn’t pay me to workout most mornings before work. But I knew that if I wanted to incorporate more exercise into my life, the mornings were my best bet. By the time my workday is over, the chances of me getting to the gym are extremely slim. So I pushed myself almost every morning for a few weeks. It SUCKED at first, I won’t lie. But then it got so much easier. I promise you, push yourself for a couple of weeks and you will look at morning workouts in a totally different light.

Reward yourself: Iced coffee with soymilk and a egg white/American cheese on whole wheat English muffin sandwich? Heck ya. Ok, to be fair I probably would have gotten this anyway, but we’ll call it a reward.

photo 4

photo 5

And off to start the day…. are you a morning workout person? Any tips you have??

5 thoughts on “The 35 Minute I-Just-Rolled-Out-Of-Bed Treadmill Workout

  1. Pingback: On Balance: When a Fro-Yo Dinner is the Right Option « StudioEats

  2. I love this post! I am typically a morning workout person. Things that tend to motivate me are after work happy hours (you can’t fit in a workout after that!), extra energy in the mornings and hating to shower more than once per day. I find it so much easier to wake up for a morning workout in the summer when it is already light outside. The winter months are definitely harder to push through!

  3. What adjustments did you have to make to your sleep schedule to switch to a morning workout? I’m considering trying it out and thinking that I may have to get used to waking up earlier first before I start exercising in the morning. Shifting my bedtime in 5 minute increments.

    • Hi Natalie,

      I do wakeup about a half hour earlier but also make my mornings more efficient. I.e. laying out clothes the night before, packing breakfast to go, etc. This way I only need to wake up slightly earlier to fit in a workout and the other adjustments help me cut down on the excess time I need in the morning. Hope this helps!

Leave a Reply

