Raisin Quinoa with spinach and a fried egg

Oh how I love these photos! Going off of my post this weekend about simplicity, this is yet another very simple weeknight meal.

IMG_2769

I had some leftover quinoa chillin’ in my fridge and because I love things sweet, I decided to add raisins to it in order to add some flavor. Top that with sauteed spinach for some green health and a fried egg and you have yourself a meal within minutes.

IMG_2771

 

IMG_2770

Some of you may be wondering about this thing called quinoa. Let me tell you a little bit about it:

– It’s pronounced keen-wa.

– It is a grain just like rice, so it counts as a whole grain carbohydrate, completely unprocessed.

– It packs in about 9 grams of protein per cup, so it is a great grain for anyone who is vegan/vegetarian and looking for some extra protein

– It cooks in about 12 minutes, so it is way faster than cooking brown rice.

– You can eat it for any meal. Think of it as a substitute for either oatmeal, cereal or brown rice.

Apparently it has a ton of fiber, magnesium and antioxidants, but let’s keep things simple 😉

IMG_2772

I topped this off with parmesan cheese. Because everything is better with cheese! Egg + Cheese = Bliss.

IMG_2774

I hope this inspires a quick and tasty meal for a weeknight. It was ready within about 15 minutes and so satisfying!

Any good quinoa ideas/recipes out there? I’d love to hear.

One thought on “Raisin Quinoa with spinach and a fried egg

  1. Pingback: Cold Weather Comfort Foods that Won’t Weigh You Down | StudioEats

Leave a Reply

