Rotisserie Chicken Salad with Mango and Avocado

I am a very simple person. I have about 3 apps on my iPhone that I use, I still read the newspaper and actual books, each pair of my shoes has a purpose, and I can only focus on a few things at once. So as you can imagine, I like my food to be simple. Too many ingredients stresses me out and why complicate things when you can put a delicious meal together with just the basics?

This chicken salad is a perfect example. I bought a rotisserie chicken for the first time from Fairway  and after a couple of days my head was spinning with thoughts of how the heck I was going to use up the rest of it. One thing I knew: cold chicken is awesome.

I looked in my fridge, saw that I had a ready-t0-eat mango, an avocado, and one lonely tomato left. A chicken salad was just calling my name.

I shredded what was left of the chicken, diced up the mango, tomato and avocado and added some balsamic vinegar and lemon juice. That’s it!

I packed this for lunches, made a few on-the-go quick dinners with it and was so happy to have a hearty meal waiting in my fridge for the next several days.

This chicken salad took almost no work, but it was an interesting and healthy spin on a normal chicken salad. It has no mayo and has an addition of a fruit, healthy fats and vegetables. I would also consider adding chopped red or green onion next time, but really, the possibilities are endless. Chopped spinach, apples, who knows! I hope you enjoy the simplicity of this dish… it is the little things in life right?

Rotisserie Chicken Salad with Mango and Avocado

  • 1 rotisserie chicken (or whatever is left)
  • 1 mango, chopped
  • 1 avocado, chopped
  • 1 ripe tomato, chopped
  • 1/4 cup balsamic vinegar
  • juice of 1/2 a lemon

1. Peel chicken with your fingers in to bite sized chunks

2. Add chopped mango, avocado and tomato

3. Drizzle balsamic vinegar and juice 1/2 a lemon over the top

2 thoughts on “Rotisserie Chicken Salad with Mango and Avocado

Leave a Reply

