Step Away from the Desk: On Taking a Lunch Break

You always read in magazines and any literature about health and wellness that taking a legitimate lunch break during a busy work day can really benefit your well being. Although I totally buy into this, it’s not really always practical to step away and take some time for yourself in the middle of the workday. I also questioned how much benefit I’d really get from it, and have never really made it a priority.

Well, today I took a legitimate lunch break. The kind you read about in those magazines. The kind that truly refreshes you and sends you back to work with a smile. It happened by accident, but I’m so glad it did.

At my work, we are lucky to get free lunch at a nearby NYC deli. I’ve gone there almost every work day for three years, and yes, it can get old. There also isn’t really anywhere to sit, so I usually just eat at my desk.

So today, I had to take a package to UPS and strolled over there at around noon. Right next door was a Le Pain Quotidien, a healthy, wholesome restaurant chain in NYC that I love. So I decided to treat myself. No free lunch, but a moment to myself.

I ordered the Salmon Tartine (smoked salmon, avocado and chopped dill on their homemade whole grain bread), sat at a cute wooden table, overlooked a busy NYC street and read the Dining section of the NY Times. I didn’t have my work blackberry and I put my phone away. I sat and relaxed and enjoyed my food. I was being a good little Lunch Break student, following directions and all!

On the way back I stopped and got a Vanilla Roobois tea misto from Starbucks. A perfect ending to my afternoon siesta.

The best part? I walked in to work totally refreshed, ready for the afternoon, and I was only gone for 1 hour. I’d call that a Lunch Break success. This won’t be happening every day, but maybe once a week is a good starting point.

Do you take lunch breaks every day?Β 

6 thoughts on “Step Away from the Desk: On Taking a Lunch Break

  1. This is a great idea and I bet none of us do it nearly as often as we should. Eating lunch at my desk/in front of my computer doesn’t give any break from the day. I also like the idea of doing some reading for pleasure during the hour. I’m going to give it a try on Thursday. Thanks Jams!

  2. This sounds lovely! I often eat at my desk, but today took the time to sit outside on our patio. It was delightful. I work in Westchester, in walking distance of a small deli only, so I make use of the patio & outdoor tables we have at our office in the ‘burbs!

  3. I’m glad to hear that you got an actual lunch break πŸ™‚ I bet it was very relaxing for you! I heard nothing but great things about Le Pain Quotiden!

Leave a Reply

