Peach & Mango Salmon with Veggie Filled Rice

When I prepare meals, I am all about thinking of the various food groups that I want to include (carbs, protein, vegetables, fat), but it needs to be somewhat interesting to me in order for me to feel satisfied.

I can’t simply split my plate in half, and fill one side with veggies, a quarter with meat and a quarter with carbs. That is so boring! Anytime I try to create that perfect, clean and healthy plate, I just end up feeling dissatisfied.

So, when I know I want a basic healthy  meal, I still try to mix it up with a bit of character. For instance, with this salmon, I added a delicious peach and mango salsa to spice it up. For the rice, I mixed it in with a variety of colorful veggies and added the absolutely necessary feta to the mix. I also cooked the rice in about a tablespoon of butter to give it that mmm satisfying fat dimension. You don’t want to be too healthy, after all.

Peach and Mango Salmon with Veggie Filled Rice

  • 1 salmon fillet (about 6 oz)
  • 1 cup cooked brown rice
  • 1 cup frozen veggies (or any veggies on hand)
  • 1/2 cup mushrooms
  • 1/3 cup red onion
  • 2 T feta cheese
  • 2 T peach/mango salsa
  • 1 T butter
  • 2 t olive oil
  • S&P
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
2. Place salmon in a pan and top it with the salsa. Place in the preheated oven and bake for about 10 minutes, checking on it to be sure it is cooked to your liking.
3. Throw about 1 cup of frozen veggies in a pan (or any veggies). Sautee until defrosted. Add the mushrooms, chopped, and the onion, diced. Sautee in EVOO, S&P, until cooked.
4. Add the cooked brown rice into the veggie mix. Add the butter and cook everything together. At the last minute, add in the feta.
5. Plate the rice/veggie/feta mixture and top it with the salmon. Ta- Da!
Leave a Reply

