Bowlin’ Over

Hellloo! I know it has been a long time since my last post. I’ve been really busy these past few weeks and haven’t had a chance to create any “real recipes”. However, I figure it would still be good to post random things I have been creating to show what I do when I am pinched for time.

When I get busy, recipes go out the window and random concoctions come in. I throw together anything that is fast, easy and healthy. Below are a couple of my recent creations. You’ll see that they usually manifest in the form of a big bowl of good stuff 🙂

 

 

This is amped up tuna salad. It has tons of protein, veggies, carbs and a sweetness factor from the dates and raisins. I highly recommend this as a quick lunch or dinner!

 

Amped up Tuna Salad with Brown Rice and Veggies:

  • 1 can tuna, in water (I used Bumble Bee)
  • 1 cup cooked brown rice
  • 1 carrot, chopped
  • 1 cup raw spinach, roughly chopped
  • 1/4 onion, chopped
  • 2 dates
  • 1 tablespoon of raisins
  • 1 tablespoon of mustard
  • 1 teaspoon light mayo
  • S&P

1. Drain the can of tuna, removing most of the water. Mix entire can of tuna with mustard, may, carrot and onion.

2. Add chopped spinach, brown rice, and top with dates and raisins.

Easy peasy!!

Next up we have a delicious combo of veggies and brown rice topped with fresh marinara and some cheddar cheese. On the subway ride home tonight, I knew I wanted something comforting and hearty. I stopped in to the grocery store, perused for a few veggies that looked good, and walked out with mushrooms and brussels.

 

I also picked up some fresh marinara sauce from the fresh pasta section. I think this definitely added to the flavors of the dish!

Brown Rice with Mushrooms, Brussel Sprouts and Fresh Marinara:

  • 1 container of white mushrooms (I used the entire container)
  • about 1 cup of brussel sprouts
  • 1 cup cooked brown rice
  • 1/2 cup to 3/4 cup marinara sauce
  • 2 tablespoons cheddar cheese
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 2 teaspoons chopped garlic
  • S&P

1. Saute garlic and olive oil in a skillet.

2. Add brussel sprouts and mushrooms, saute for about 10 minutes until crispy and brown, stirring occasionally.

3. Top veggies with brown rice, marinara and cheese. Stir stir stir, and voila!

 

I hope these recipes come in handy when you are in need of a quick, hearty and healthy meal!

 

 

 

One thought on “Bowlin’ Over

  1. Pingback: Cold Weather Comfort Foods that Won’t Weigh You Down | StudioEats

Leave a Reply

