Turkey Burgers

Waking up this morning to 50 degree weather in NYC made me think of Spring, which then made me think of BBQs which then made me think of burgers on the grill. Mmmmmm…. I can’t wait for Spring!

Turkey Burgers are something I have always wanted to make, so I figured today was the day. I scanned a few recipes, took some tips from each, and then formed my own plan. I remember one time my mom made turkey burgers and put mushrooms in them and I thought she was a genius. Mushrooms were a definite ingredient I wanted to include.

These are the basic ingredients I used:

Ground turkey, onion, mushrooms, and parsley. I also added dijon mustard into mine for some bold flavor.

I started off cooking the mushrooms and onions with about 1 teaspoon of garlic and 1 tablespoon of EVOO. I let them cook down for a good 10 minutes before adding everything together into a large bowl:

Get down and dirty with your hands, form some patties, and throw them on the skillet at medium heat:

Let them cook for about 5 minutes, then turn:

Lookin’ good! Leave on for a few more minutes, check that they are cooked through, and then remove them from the heat. Allow to cool for a few minutes and then they’re done!

My recipe yields 9 patties. I saved a few in my fridge, and then individually wrapped the rest in tin foil so that I could defrost them for a quick meal at any time. These would be great obviously as a burger, but also on top of a big salad, crushed up in a pasta dish, or just for snack. Healthy, simple, and filling. I would also like to mention that, out of curiosity, I took my receipt from the grocery store and computed the cost to make each of these burgers and it came out to be about $1 per burger!! When they say you really can save money by cooking at home, they mean it!

Turkey Burgers (yields 9):

  • 1 package lean ground turkey (I used lean instead of extra lean because I wanted some fat in order to keep them juicy). I think my package was just over 1 lb of turkey.
  • 1/2 large carton of mushrooms
  • 1/2 medium sized onion
  • 1/2 cup chopped fresh parsley
  • 1 tablespoon EVOO
  • 2 tablespoons dijon mustard
  • 2 tablespoons egg whites
  • 1 teaspoon chopped garlic
  • Salt and pepper

1. Heat EVOO in a skillet over medium heat. Add garlic and sautee garlic for about 2 minutes.

2. Add chopped onion and sliced mushrooms, S&P to taste. Cook down, stirring occasionally, for about 10 minutes until both mushrooms and onions are soft.

3. In a large bowl, combine ground turkey, chopped parsley, egg whites, djion mustard, and onion/mushroom mixture. Mix together with hands and from into patties.

4. Drop patties into a skillet over medium heat (I kept my skillet slightly coated with a little olive oil). Cook for about 5 minutes and then flip. Cook for another 2-4 minutes, checking one patty frequently to see if it is cooked through.

5. Remove from heat, allow to cool for a couple of minutes, and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

