Sweet Roasted Acorn Squash

How come nobody told me that cooking an acorn squash was like carving a pumpkin? If I had known, I would have done this a long time ago! It was a fun little activity and brought back some good old memories of being a kid and carving pumpkins.

This recipe is seriously delicious and took about 5 minutes to prepare before popping it into the oven. It was my first time working with an acorn squash but again, was a food that I really wanted to learn how to cook.

To begin, I cut off the ends of the squash, saw the seeds, smiled, thought about how flippin’ delicious roasted pumpkin seeds are and had some flashbacks to some ridiculous Halloween costumes, and then carried on. I scooped out the seeds, and sliced the squash into about 1/2 inch thick slices.

Then, I microwaved about 1 tablespoon of whipped butter, added about a tablespoon of dark brown sugar and 1.5 tablespoons of maple syrup. Mix mix mix!


Ummm you can’t really go wrong with butter, sugar and syrup, huh? No exact measurements needed here.

Then came the fun part. You get to coat the slices of acorn squash with the sugary mixture and then you get to lick your fingers. Recipes that require you to get just a little messy in the kitchen are the best kind in my book!

Then, sprinkle with salt, and pop this tray into a 425 degree oven. Sit back, relax, and let these guys roast. Mine took about 25 minutes, but just keep checking until the insides are soft.

And there you have it. This recipe is done, and let me tell you, this turned out so tasty. I would pair this with chicken, or mix it into a salad, or add it to pasta with some feta. The possibilities are endless. This is a great starchy vegetable to add to any meal. My mind has already started racing with ideas about how what I will do with this during the week… oh, the possibilities! Another new cooking adventure for me has come to a close. Goodnight!

3 thoughts on “Sweet Roasted Acorn Squash

Leave a Reply

