Almond Maple Granola

Homemade granola is now another long awaited creation that I can check off of my list! This is definitely one that I will be making again. I have loved having a huge tupperware full of this good stuff to add to yogurt and fruit, top my ice cream off with, or (in most cases) just eat plain.

 

 

This recipe only took about 10 minutes to throw together and another 20 or so minutes to bake. I must have looked at 50 granola recipes before diving in, but looking back, one thing I learned is that it’s pretty hard to screw it up. In order to be successful you really just need a bunch of oaty/nutty/crunchy ingredients and then some sweet/liquidy/sticky ingredients to bind it all together. Measurements don’t need to be exact and you can let your creativity flow with this one.

 

I based my recipe off of this one that I found on the internet, but I improvised a bit. I threw in a container of apple-cinnamon applesauce and some molasses at the end to help bind everything together. I also went a little light on the honey/syrup combo because I didn’t want mine to come out to sweet. And of course I threw in some chocolate chips, because everything is better with chocolate 🙂

 

 

Almond Maple Granola

  • 4 cups rolled oats (I used original, not instant)
  • 3/4 cup wheat germ
  • 1/2 cup slivered almonds
  • A few tbsp of chopped cashews
  • 1 small container (about 1/2 cup) apple cinnamon applesauce
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1.5 tspn ground cinnamon
  • 1.5 tspn vanilla
  • 1/4 cup raisins
  • 1/4 cup chocolate chips

1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Line two large baking sheets with aluminum foil.

2. Combine oats, wheat germ and almonds in a large bowl.

3. Stir together salt, brown sugar, maple syrup, honey, oil, cinnamon and vanilla in a large saucepan. Bring to a boil over medium heat, then pour over the dry ingredients. Stir everything.

4. Add in the applesauce and molasses. Stir again.

5. Add in raisins and chocolate chips and mix.

6. Lay out granola on baking pans and bake in oven for 20-25 minutes. ** The granola will continue to harden once it is removed from the oven, so if you think it hasn’t gotten crispy yet after 20-25 minutes, fear not! Take it out and it will still continue to crisp up**

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

