Smoked Salmon Eggs Benedict

I grew up on eggs. When I was little, I knew eggs by the formal names of “mommy eggs” and “daddy eggs”. Mommy eggs were scrambled (my mom makes the best scrambled eggs ever) and Daddy eggs are fried, over-easy. I didn’t know the terms scrambled or fried though, I just stumbled down in my one-sie pajamas and ordered Mommy eggs or Daddy eggs.

As I got a little older and smarter, I learned how to order my egg and cheese sandwiches at a real restaurant. It was always over-easy. I loved gooey eggs and got really upset whenever they messed up my order. My grandfather actually started a fast food chain in Connecticut and it was our second home as kids. Over easy egg and cheese sandwiches were eaten at least on a weekly basis.

When I went away to college, whenever I would come home, I would have breakfast with my Grandma. We would go to our local diner and sit and catch up. She always ordered the same thing: 2 poached eggs (sometimes 1), in a cup, with toast. Sometimes she’d throw in a blueberry muffin, grilled, if she felt like it. The woman knows what she wants. The poached eggs looked amazing and were new to me. They were so simple, so cute, sooo “over-easy”! I had to try this.

Eventually, I got on the poached eggs kick and started ordering the same thing as my Grandma when we went out to breakfast.

 

When I started going out to brunch more often during my years after college, Eggs Benedict became something I noticed popping up on all of the NYC restaurant brunch menus. On this snowy morning in NY, I decided to finally try out making my own poached eggs and working them into what has become one of my favorite brunch dishes: Smoked Salmon Eggs Benedict. I googled how to make poached eggs one last time and ventured into the kitchen with high hopes. I’d call this a success. The pictures speak for themselves, right?

Grandma, next time, breakfast is at my place. A poached egg with toast, coming right up!

 

Smoked Salmon Eggs Benedict

  • 2 eggs
  • 2 pieces of toast, cut into circles if you’d like to make it feel like the real thing, or an english muffin. Toast or keep untoasted.
  • 2 generous slices of smoked salmon
  • 1/4 grated cheddar cheese
  • 1 tbsp vinegar (I used balsamic vinegar because it’s all I had, which worked fine)
  • 2 tspn salt

1. Bring about 4 cups of water to a boil with salt added. You want at least 5 inches of water in your pot, so adjust accordingly.

2. Once the water is boiling, add 1 tbsp of vinegar. Reduce boil to a simmer.

3. Crack your eggs into a small bowl. Gently drop the eggs from your small bowl into the simmering water. The whites should spread out but immediately begin turning white.

4. After 2-3 minutes, your eggs are done. You’ll know they are done when the whites are completely white and you can spoon out the eggs without anything falling apart. Take the eggs out and place them in a strainer to drain excess water. *If you don’t want runny eggs, keep them in the water for a few more minutes.*

5. While eggs are draining, place toasted bread or english muffin on a plate. Layer the eggs on top, then the freshly grated cheddar cheese, and slices of smoked salmon.

6. Cut into the eggs and watch the yolk drip out. Mush all together and eat 🙂

 

 

4 thoughts on “Smoked Salmon Eggs Benedict

  1. I’m the Dad from the Daddy Eggs and I loved hearing this story and remembering all the times we all ate either Mommy Eggs or Daddy Eggs….what great memories!! Also great to see how Grandma’s good eating habits are an influencing factor!!

  2. Pingback: Egg White Veggie Frittata Muffins « StudioEats

  3. Pingback: On Family Time: A Day in the City with Grandma « StudioEats

Leave a Reply

