Havana Moon Chili

I’ve always been intimidated by recipes. So many ingredients, so many lines of instruction, so much work for just one product. However, Havana Moon Chili was one of those recipes that encouraged me to just buckle down and give a recipe a shot. It was that good.

My mom made this over Thanksgiving and it was a huge hit. I caught myself dreaming about this one day once I was back in the city and trying to figure out a way to persuade my mom to make me some and bring it to me in the city. Then it dawned on me that I could just make it myself! Imagine that.

This recipe is hearty, has a variety of interesting flavors, and is just “different” from its chili friends. Its’ unique ingredients are what drew me to this recipe and trust me, even when I, the amateur, made it, it did not disappoint.

I more or less followed the recipes that I found while searching for Havana Moon Chili on the internet, but made a few minor adjustments.

After making this chili, I separated it into several tupperwares and threw them in the freezer for the cold wintry NYC days which are on the horizon.

Served with a whole wheat roll & honey on the side, this was a comforting meal at its finest.

Havana Moon Chili 

  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1/2 cup chopped onion
  • A few teaspoons of chopped garlic or 3 garlic cloves
  • 1 pound of lean ground turkey
  • one 14 1/2-ounce can vegetable broth
  • one 28-ounce can whole peeled tomatoes, drained
  • 1 can black beans
  • 1 can corn
  • 1 small case of mushrooms, sliced
  • 2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
  • 1/3 cup raisins
  • 4 tablespoons chili powder
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground allspice
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cloves
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 cup pimiento-stuffed green olives, halved
  • 1/4 cup slivered almonds

1. Add the olive oil to a large soup pot or dutch oven. Stir in the onion and garlic, cook until soft.

2. Add the ground turkey (I used ground turkey, but you could also use beef/pork) and cook until brown. Drain off excess liquid (aka fat).

3. Add the vegetable broth (you could have also used chicken/beef broth) and the tomatoes, squashing each tomato by hand before adding it in (this is the best part!!). So fun.

4. Add in all other ingredients except for the olives and almonds. Bring to a boil; reduce heat and simmer partially covered. Uncover and simmer for an additional 30 minutes.

5. Slice olives in half and add, along with the slivered almonds.

6. Cook for 5 more minutes. Enjoy!!

2 thoughts on “Havana Moon Chili

  1. Pingback: Cold Weather Comfort Foods that Won’t Weigh You Down | StudioEats

Leave a Reply

